Posted by: emmaharger | June 17, 2011

A Boston cream pie in the sky idea

Get it? Pie in the sky? Let's just gaze on this lovely Boston cream pie for a while.

Oh, Atlanta. Why must you be so incredibly far from Boston? I’d give pretty much anything to be able to go up there tomorrow and see the victory parade, but alas, a combination of things (cost, travel time, things I need to do down here as soon as the next day) make this impossible. Sigh. I look forward to seeing coverage of and photos from the parade, though. EDIT: The hockey gods heard me and decided to give me the next best thing. NHL Network will be televising the parade starting tomorrow at 10 a.m. Well, I know where I’m going to be tomorrow morning! (Still in Atlanta, alas, but hey.)

The Boston Globe‘s website had a pretty ace photo gallery yesterday of how different newspapers in the New England region–and even some from Vancouver–covered Game 7. I gotta say, I love the technical layout-ese employed in the captions explaining how the papers chose to portray the story. Oh yeah, tell me more about six-column style. Central packages? Yeah buddy! The term ‘above the fold’? Oh, how my heart sings.

Also, a more long-term project for obvious reasons is starting to take shape. Come the fall, and the next regular season, Krista and I want to build fantasy teams and then pit them against each other in a friendly competition. So, we’re gonna spend some time this offseason learning about how those work so that we can do things properly in the fall.


Leave a Reply

Categories

