Posted by: kristagolden | June 24, 2011

Hockey’s version of a Post-It note breakup

Did you ever have someone do something so totally out of left field that you kinda wondered if they’re sober? Philadelphia Flyers fans are wondering if GM Paul Holmgren is high as a flag flying over Independence Hall.

The Flyers made two big trades today, and by big I mean “YOU TRADED WHO TO WHERE?!”. The first sends center Jeff Carter to the Columbus Blue Jackets in exchange for right winger Jakub Voracek, the #8 pick and a pick in the third round. And if you didn’t think they could top that, they traded Mike Richards to the Los Angeles Kings in exchange for center Brayden Schenn (yes, that’s Luke’s brother), right winger Wayne Simmonds and a pick in next year’s draft.

You read that correctly. They traded their captain and one of their alternates.

These two were on the verge of the second greatest Flyers bromance behind Danny Briere and Claude Giroux.

By all accounts, management is torn up about this, because Richards and Carter were well-liked and respected within the organization. But I think they could’ve handled how/when they told the guys about the trade. Case in point:

“I was very shocked when I got a call this afternoon from my agent, just kind of giving me the rundown on what he knew,” he [Richards] said. “I actually found out about it on the Internet a few minutes before I was able to get the confirmation from my agent about it. At first I was shocked, then I was excited.

“I’m excited to go out to L.A. and be part of a team that that has a ton of great players, and I’m looking forward to helping them out.” (Source)

They couldn’t even give these two a heads up? Psh, that’s cold.

While Flyers fans were screeching and wondering what the hell happened, the organization signed goalie Ilya Bryzgalov to a 9 year, $51 million contract. It seemed too much of a coincidence to me that they’d purge two of their star players just before they sign a goalie to such a lofty deal. Then this sentence caught my attention:

The Flyers were close to the salary cap ceiling, and those two blockbuster trades gave the Flyers the necessary money to lock up Bryzgalov.

So they sacrificed their best players to gain a goalie that may or may not be worthy of such money? Wow. Just, wow. Let’s hope they don’t regret that decision too early in the season.

 


Responses

  1. Nice post. Wow, what an unbelievable sports day. Thought it was going to be all about the NBA draft but then the Flyers come out and do this. Three huge moves in the span of like 2 hours. I liked the initial trades with getting rid of the Carter and Richards contracts but then I thought they simply took a step back by taking on Bryzgalov for so long. Literally, 2 steps forward 1 step back IMO. It’s going to be interesting to see how their players develop in the next few years and how their team is able to react to this situation. They were supposed to have those guys as cornerstones for a decade and now that’s all down the drain. I guess it’s up to Giroux, Van Riemsdyk and ugh…Bryzzzy and his fat contract. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I really wanna know what you think http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/flyer-shocker-reeks-of-same-old-same-old/


Leave a Reply

Categories

