Posted by: kristagolden | June 27, 2011

They’re trading who from my team?!

And I just hope that you can forgive us, but everything must go

– Manic Street Preachers, “Everything Must Go”

Just when Blackhawks fans were recovering from the news that Troy Brouwer and Brian Campbell had been traded on the first day of the draft, there comes the alert that Tomas Kopecky has been traded to Florida for a 7th round draft pick next year. I allowed myself the momentary thought of  “What the -” before logic and reason nudged their way into the room.

I understand the usual reactions:

– THEY’RE GUTTING THE CUP TEAM AGAIN! NOOOOOOO!!!!
– I LIKED HIM, HOW CAN THEY DO THIS TO ME?!
– WHAT WILL MARIAN HOSSA DO NOW THAT HIS BUDDY’S GONE?

They made such a cute couple, too.

I felt like saying those too, till I applied this trade to the two other trades and the theory I have about them.

See, Patrick Sharp’s contract expires after next season. The three guys traded had big salaries, and it ate up a lot of space toward the salary cap. Now that the money’s free, it could go toward a renegotiated contract. Rather than scramble to reach a deal next summer – because you don’t know when your summer will begin – I think Stan Bowman and company are negotiating with him this summer. They’ve signed Crawfishy and snagged his backup, so this would be the next logical step – re-sign one of your top players and lock him in for a possibly long-term contract (I’m thinking it would be along the lines of the 13-year, $74 million one that Duncan Keith got in 2009). Hey, Sharpie’s a really valuable asset to the team: 34 goals and 37 assists this past season, and he only played 74 games due to a knee injury. That’s one more game played than Patrick Kane (who was also out with an injury), and almost a point a game like Kaner.

Of course, he also does things like this. Oh, that's Kris Versteeg in the headlock? Carry on, boys.

So, fellow Blackhawks fans, don’t cry for Tomas Kopecky, he’ll be hanging with Soupy. Just hope that they treat our boys well. In the meantime, cross fingers and toes (almost spelled that Toews, hahaha) that we get Sharpie signed sooner rather than later.


Responses

  1. I’d like to point out here that Hossa used to be a Thrasher…
    I’m not sure how fans responded when he left, since I wasn’t a fan then, but I certainly hope it wasn’t as melodramatic as the response to Kopecky. I literally saw someone say “RIP Kopecky, 2009-2011” or something. He’s not DEAD!


Leave a Reply

Categories

