Posted by: analeeharriman | June 29, 2011

Tales From The Crib: Where In The World is Jaromir Jagr?

A few days after I made my post regarding why Jaromir Jagr returning to the Pittsburgh Penguins was a bad idea, I discovered that it was confirmed by all major news outlets that the Penguins had, in fact, made him an offer.
Doing some research on my own yesterday and today, I discovered that the team had offered him a one-year contract worth $2 million.
It was my firm opinion then, as it is now, that Jagr would not accept the deal, because I believed that he felt that the deal was beneath him.
It has been brought to my attention that today, the day he was supposed to land in New York to announce whether or not he would re-sign with the Penguins, Jagr did NOT arrive with his flight.  In fact, nobody knows where he is.

 

Jagr was last seen traveling with this woman.

I am not going to say “I told you so,” because I never said he would do this kind of thing.  However, if he has decided to not get on the plane and thereby throw under the bus a team that he has ALREADY thrown under the bus once before, I am not at all surprised.
Additionally, I dug up another rather interesting piece of information.  Apparently, the Detroit Red Wings and the Pittsburgh Penguins were the ONLY teams that had expressed interest in having Jagr play for them, and the Penguins were the only team to make him an offer.
Now, I find this interesting, since Jagr is undoubtedly a highly skilled hockey player and any hockey team would be incredibly lucky to have him as a player.  The New York Rangers, another former Jagr team, flat-out stated that they were not interested in having him back.
Which makes me wonder something: what could Jagr possibly have done to make the New York Rangers not want him back?  That could be considered mean, since Jagr is 39 years old and all but past his prime playing-wise, but knowing what his personality was like when he left the Penguins, I can’t help but wonder if there were some things he did and said while he played for the Rangers that made them decide that they didn’t want him back for some reason other than age.
But right now, I think we should consider the most important question of all: If Jagr’s not in New York right now, where the heck is he?

Bueller? Frye? Jagr?


Leave a Reply

Categories

