Posted by: analeeharriman | September 8, 2011

Gloves off, it’s Fight Time!

Hockey fights.  They can be dangerous, but under the right circumstances, they can be wickedly hilarious too.

Especially if you happen to personally know one of the players involved with a fight.

A few months ago, my little sister informed me that one of the guys I went to high school with, a former member of my school’s hockey team named Cullen Eddy, had a hockey video up on YouTube.  When I asked her what kind of hockey video it was, she told me that it was a hockey fight.

Now, I know Cullen Eddy personally.  He was a year behind me in high school, and even though we weren’t best friends or even good friends (I was better friends with his brother Chris, who graduated a year before me), he was always generally nice to me.  But he also had a bit of a temper issue; if you made him mad, woe betide you.  I witnessed a few hallway fights that made me consider, after I started working my senior year of high school, hiring Mr. Eddy as a bodyguard.  It’s part of what made him an excellent defenseman.  I’ve seen highlight videos of Cullen playing for our high school hockey team, and I’m not surprised he’s playing professionally now.

I was, however, surprised to see that he didn’t have just one hockey fight video up on YouTube; he had THREE.  I’ve picked my favorite of the three to show you, dear readers, because it ties in with the point I made at the beginning of this short piece: Hockey fights can be hilarious.

Seriously, how can you NOT laugh at a hockey fight that takes place with “Gonna Fly Now” from Rocky in the background?  The only way this could have been funnier is if the guy he was fighting (Brad Herauf of the Charlotte Checkers) yelled “ADRIAAAAAAAAAAAN!” as the zebras were pulling them apart.

Actually, no.

I take that back.

The only way this video could have been funnier is if the fight was taking place with “Yakety Sax” playing in the background.

Because “Yakety Sax” makes EVERYTHING funnier.

-Anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

