Posted by: kristagolden | October 21, 2011

Blackhawks game 6 wrap-up

Chicago Blackhawks at Colorado Avalanche

October 20, 2011

3-1, Blackhawks

Goals: Jonathan Toews (Chicago), Ryan O’Byrne (Colorado), Patrick Sharp (Chicago), Marian Hossa (Chicago)

Goalies: Corey Crawford (.969), Semyon Varlamov (.931)

The Good

We won, which is a good thing. The momentum from Tuesday’s win worked its magic and gave us what we needed tonight against a team with the best power play unit in the league. We shut that down rather effectively.

I suppose I’m warming up again to Jonathan Toews a bit – he did score the first goal of the night. But I need to know something: what is up with his forehead? I saw an intermission interview with him, and he looked like baby Simba in The Lion King.

Don't ever ask me why they call him Captain Derpface. I'll just point to this picture.

I said it on Twitter, and I’ll say it here: Corey Crawford is like Obi-Wan Kenobi; he swats pucks away as if to say “You don’t need to score that goal.” He only let one goal in the entire night! Between his saves and the ones Semyon Varlamov made, I think my heart stopped half a dozen times.

"This is not the goal you're looking for."

The line of Daniel Carcillo, Patrick Kane and Marian Hossa is really meshing, as evidenced in the third period. Signing Carbomb was a smart move on Stan Bowman’s part, because he’s proving to be more than just a tough guy – he’s finessing the puck and making some wicked passes, not to mention picking up an assist on the Toews goal.

I guess I should thank Brent Seabrook for that tripping penalty in the last two minutes of the game. I’d like to think it was a good distraction, enough to shove Varly to the bench and allow Hoss to score on the empty net. I do love me those empty net goals.

The Bad

Our power play make me want to cry. It’s like we lose control out there; if we happen to score, it’s a miracle. We need more work on it.

Stop trying to jack our swag, you little snot.

I hate Varly. He blocked all four of Kaner’s SOG, not to mention a beautiful goal attempt by Seabs that other goalies might’ve let slip past them. HAET U SO MUCH.

The Ugly

Allow me to say this in all caps: TWO THIRDS OF THIS GAME WAS SLOPPY. I’m gonna totally blame it on the altitude.

I'm gonna blame this on the altitude, too.

Next game

vs. Colorado Avalanche

October 22, 2011

WGN-TV (Chicago area only)/Center Ice

Now you’re on our turf. Bring it, ya jerks.

– Krista


Leave a Reply

Categories

