Posted by: kristagolden | October 23, 2011

Blackhawks game 7 wrap-up

Colorado Avalanche at Chicago Blackhawks

October 22, 2011

5-4, Avalanche (shootout)

Goals: Paul Stastny (Colorado), Michael Frolik (Chicago), David Jones (Colorado), Gabriel Landeskog (Colorado), Jonathan Toews (Chicago), Jamal Mayers (Chicago), Marian Hossa (Chicago), Gabriel Landeskog (Colorado), Joakim Lindstrom (Colorado, shootout)

Goalies: Corey Crawford (.833), Semyon Varlamov (.895)

The Good

The first period was awful offensively…for Colorado. They barely made any SOG and were held back by a defense that looked pretty good, until they decided to look really crappy.

Frolin' in the deeeeeeeeeep (Anna tweeted this after he scored the goal).

Michael Frolik got his first goal of the season tonight with a nice unassisted wrister 46 seconds into the second period. Jamal Mayers also got his first goal, and Jonathan Toews is trying to get back into my good graces. Work harder, Toewsbot, because goals alone won’t make me like you more.

Marian Hossa, I love you. I think you work better with Patrick Kane than Toewsbot did. Those clutch goals nearly kill me.

Corey Crawford. Cue the broken record on him I’ve been playing.

Watch him make awesome saves. Gush about them. Repeat x infinity.

Do I have to say something nice about one of the Avs? Fine. Gabriel Landeskog is a beast..but he’s no Ryan Nugent-Hopkins.

The Bad

I keep harping on our power play, because it’s slowly turning into a self-penalty kill. Back to the drawing board.

Coach kept changing the lines, playing Musical Wingers with Viktor Stalberg, Patrick Sharp and Daniel Carcillo. Carbomb was sent to third line, and Stally and Sharpie floated between first and second lines. This obviously didn’t work, and I don’t know why Coach kept it up.

Our shootout strategy is just abysmal. I don’t know what we’re thinking, but clearly it’s not working. Kaner won’t listen to me when I scream “TOP SHELF!” because he keeps aiming low. He needs to stop that. In fact, they ALL need to stop that, otherwise they might as well just throw the puck at the net.

The Ugly

Semyon Varlamov. There, I said it. I guess I’ll have to learn how to swear in Russian now.

I don’t know what happened to our defense, but the intrepid Blackhawks reporters on Twitter relayed that Coach is very unhappy, to put it nicely. To quote him, “We gave them four goals. All four goals are cardinal sins in how we defend or how we play situational plays.” I think that means that practice will be a living hell for the boys tomorrow.

Duncs, why must you make me cry into my cocoa when you play?

Next game

vs. Anaheim Ducks

October 25, 2011

WGN Radio/CSN-Chicago/Center Ice

First meeting of the season between the Hawks and the Ducks. I wish we were heading into this on a three-game winning streak.

– Krista


Responses

  1. Didn’t the Hawks have no SOG the last 7 minutes of the 1st period? I wouldn’t call that terrible on the Avs’ part.

    • But that’s when our defense began to fall apart. Stastny’s goal was a tip-in; we should’ve handled it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

