Posted by: Adventures in Pucking | January 12, 2012

Your 2012 All-Star roster (complete with omissions)

As anticipated, the NHL released the rest of the roster for the All-Star Game today, and it was a bit surprising to both Emma and me. Every team is represented by at least one player.

First Six

Daniel Alfredsson, Jason Spezza, Milan Michalek and Erik Karlsson (Ottawa), Dion Phaneuf (Toronto) and Tim Thomas (Boston)

Forwards

Jamie Benn (Dallas), Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit), Marian Gaborik (NY Rangers), Claude Giroux (Philadelphia), Marian Hossa, Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews (Chicago), Jarome Iginla (Calgary), Phil Kessel and Joffrey Lupul (Toronto), Mikko Koivu (Minnesota), Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh), Logan Couture (San Jose), Alex Ovechkin (Washington), Corey Perry (Anaheim), Jason Pominville (Nashville), Daniel and Henrik Sedin (Vancouver), Tyler Seguin (Boston), Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay) and John Tavares (NY Islanders)

Defensemen

Dustin Byfuglien (Winnipeg), Brian Campbell (Florida), Zdeno Chara (Boston), Alexander Edler (Vancouver), Dan Girardi (NY Rangers), Shea Weber and Ryan Suter (Nashville), Keith Yandle (Phoenix), Dennis Wideman (Washington) and Kimmo Timonen (Philadelphia)

Goalies

Brian Elliott (St. Louis), Jimmy Howard (Detroit), Henrik Lundqvist (NY Rangers), Carey Price (Montreal) and Jonathan Quick (Los Angeles)

All-Star Rookies

Luke Adam (Buffalo), Sean Couturier and Matt Read (Philadelphia), Justin Faulk (Carolina), Colin Greening (Ottawa), Adam Henrique and Adam Larson (New Jersey), Cody Hodgson (Vancouver), Ryan Johansen (Columbus), Gabriel Landeskog (Colorado), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Edmonton) and Craig Smith (Nashville)

Our takes

Krista: As a Blackhawks fan, the biggest omission for me was Patrick Sharp. I know he’s injured, but just as Sidney Crosby was named last year and had a replacement, Sharpie warranted a spot and a replacement *coughPatriceBergeroncough*. Other than that, I notice that there isn’t a Staal brother in sight on the roster – this could be due to Marc’s concussion, Jordan’s penchant for attracting injury and Eric’s…um, lack of performance.

Other omissions that stood out for me: no Niklas Lidstrom in what could be his final year in the NHL. He was captain of one of the teams last year, so that snub has me scratching my head. Also, no Jaromir Jagr. You’d think that with all the hype surrounding his return, Philly fans would want him to go. Guess they don’t like him that much (I feel ya there).

Also of note: I didn’t know until today that a player can decline if they’ve been named to the All-Star roster. This is good to know, because I was about to blow a gasket over Teemu Selanne being omitted till I found out that he not only passed on the invitation but he asked that Corey Perry go in his place. That’s beyond classy and selfless.

Emma: I thought it was interesting that all thirty teams have at least someone going to the big show. I’m not sure if it’s always been that way in the past, so the fairness-minded part of me likes that. (Yes, even that Failapeg has someone going. Dustin Byfuglien went last year too. Hey, I didn’t hear a word about him during the game on Tuesday. Weird.) I too wish to give Selanne a “Hey, you’re a real decent guy” award for bowing out in favor of “Scorey” Perry. I also hope Ryan Nugent-Hopkins feels better in time to go to the game.

I’m happy to see Brian Elliott among the goalies selected. He’s been a huge surprise this year and I know Blues fans must be very excited to see him in the lineup. John Tavares is also an extremely good selection and my Islanders pals are overjoyed to see him go there!

Okay, now to the things I’m questioning. Obviously, quite obviously, the exclusion of Patrice Bergeron. I see what Tyler Seguin’s selection is based on: how he leads the entire league in plus-minus, leading the Bruins in points, etc. However, Bergeron is just such a hard worker and all-around good guy that I don’t know why he was excluded. (Is it laying the framework for him to receive some sort of other award later?) I’m also wondering about Alexander Ovechkin because “the great 8” isn’t so great lately, but then again, name recognition alone is probably what propelled him there.

Overall, it’s an interesting slate, except missing a certain #37, and I am looking forward to the All-Star weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

