Posted by: kristagolden | November 20, 2011

Blackhawks-Oilers Game 2 wrapup

Chicago Blackhawks at Edmonton Oilers

9-2, Oilers

Goals: Ales Hemsky (Edmonton), Patrick Sharp (Chicago), Ryan Jones (Edmonton), Ryan Smyth (Edmonton), Taylor Hall x3 (Edmonton), Jordan Eberle (Edmonton), Tom Gilbert (Edmonton), Dave Bolland (Chicago), Shawn Horcoff (Edmonton)

Goalies: Ray Emery (.741), Corey Crawford (.714), Nikolai Khabibulin (.944)

The Good

Um, we had two power play goals. That was the sixth game in a row where we scored on the PP.

At least Sharpie scored a goal.

And…that’s it for the good stuff.

The Bad

Flashback: October 12, 2009, Flames at Blackhawks. We were down by five and somehow managed to score six to win in overtime. Reminding myself of that game was futile.

I’m gonna venture a guess and say that this was not the way Patrick Kane wanted to celebrate his 23rd birthday. What did he get for a present? A four-minute minor for high sticking (he drew blood) and another two-minute minor for unsportsmanlike conduct. That’s my mouthy little muffin.

"This part of my birthday really sucks."

Ray Emery started the game but was pulled after the first three goals in eight minutes. Why he was kept in the rest of the game is beyond me. Poor Razor, he tried his best.

You know it's bad when this happens.

The Ugly

Seriously, I cannot believe how quickly and completely we fell apart tonight. We got stuck in the corners, we kept turning over the puck, we couldn’t defend the net, and who knows how many of those nine goals were stoppable. It seemed like there was absolutely no effort at all tonight. No offense, no defense. This was just unacceptable. And if I won’t accept that as a fan, you know Coach Q won’t take this crap from his team.

What in the name of everything was that first period?! I had to walk out of the room after Jordan Eberle scored.

I was on the verge of tears for most of this game, seriously. I even threatened to go all Tyra Banks on my boys.

I WAS ROOTING FOR YOU! WE WERE ALL ROOTING FOR YOU!

 Have you ever heard of the Five Stages of Grief? By the third period, I was sailing out of Bargaining and into Depression. I didn’t hit Acceptance till around 2 a.m.

Next Game

at San Jose Sharks

November 23

CSN-Chicago/Center Ice

We seriously need some time off to get it together. I’d hate to be on the receiving end of Coach Q’s wrath. Personally, I think they’d be better off practicing their little butts off between now and their next game.

– Krista


Leave a comment

Categories